Happy Easter

We’ve had a great day despite the annoyingly early start with Ella and Nathaniel arriving by my bed at 5.50am, stating confusion with his analogue football watch. I was tired and grumpy but sorted myself out and got cracking with getting the slow-cooked lamb shoulder on. Mr C supervised Ella doing some Maths practice for her SATS while I prepared the huge pan of par-boiled potatoes and parsnips ready to roast after the lamb was done. Nathaniel and I iced and decorated the cake as well before #2 daughter and family arrived with Sandy the dog.

The children painted the hard-boiled eggs before lunch. Lunch was a great success. Daughter really appreciated the mint sauce I’d made as it reminded her of what I’d made in her childhood. The lamb was really tender and there was heaps to give daughter to take home.

We then did the 4 mile walk through the woods and onto the moor to get to the good rolling eggs place. The children went ahead playing imaginary games of hiding, making ambushes etc.

On return to the house we did the egg hunt. #2 hid the eggs then we realised Nathaniel and James weren’t back. They’d found a ball on the way and were playing in the street. Then James arrived saying Nathaniel was still playing. Typical - when he did stroll in he laughed when I said I was thinking of another 999 call.

Here they all are with the haul of eggs. A great day. Now we are watching Race across the world. Ella and Nathaniel love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.