MonoMonday: Space/Astronomy

Jensphotos, our MM host this month, would like to celebrate the first ever image of a black hole, produced on this day in 2019 - as well as Haley's comet coming closest to earth on its most recent passage, on this day in 1986.

So we waited until it was dark and my Editor kindly agreed to be pressganged into peering at the night sky through an old family-heirloom telescope (which actually doesn't work very well but never mind). Sadly there was a lot of cloud cover and only one tiny star was visible, so I confess that the night sky here is faked: I photographed the screen of my mobile phone while it was showing an image on the Stellarium app, and layered it onto the image in Photoshop. So it really does show some stars in positions in which they would have appeared at roughly the same time as my Editor was peeping upwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.