Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bowls in Hexham

First of all, I want to thank all of you who appreciated my wood anemone and sprinkled stars and hearts. It made it to the second Popular page.

Today I had a plan. The first part was to pack the car with recycling and the second part to go to the tip.

I had bottles from the last six three months and wanted rid of them! I added cardboard boxes, a couple of electrical items and that was that.

The container for glass was almost full. It was difficult to push more bottles in. One of mine fell back out and smashed. The person on duty came and locked the container, but he said that we could put our bottles in with the rubble, so I did.

I tried out the new long stay car park because the Wentworth is now all short stay, no good if you are going to the cinema. It's a significant walk into town and there are no signposts for visitors who may have no idea which way to go. It is free, so I'm not complaining.

I sat by the bowling green to eat my lunchtime sandwich. My maternal grandfather was very keen on bowls. He had his woods in a special leather case and I remember being allowed to see them.

These bowlers are looking for recruits so I was invited to join.

I was in town to see Alleluia which I expected to be a feel good film with lots of familiar actors. In the main it was, but I did not see the twist at the end coming! It was odd to be watching it when the junior doctors are out on strike. One of my favourite actors had a big role. He is David Bradley who I remember seeing with the RSC many years ago and then in more dramas since (not Harry Potter). I think his acting is very good indeed.

I came home via Waitrose and stocked up on a few things. Their milk has white tops on both semi and full cream milk. This makes it much more difficult to spot the correct carton in the fridge. (Small moan only.)

PS I suspect that bowls might not be good for Arth and Aggie so I shall decline the offer of playing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.