Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Corbridge Point to Point

I went to the Corbridge Point to Point today with the aim of taking documentary style photographs. I want to capture how people are living in this area at this time.

Instead of those sort of images - of which I shot many - I give you my good friend Tory and her daughter, Lucy.

Tory was the very best secretary I had in over 30 years in the NHS. She was 21 when I appointed her and I did wonder if this was a rash decision. She ran our community Child Mental Health Service efficiently and cheerfully. 

She was newly married and her first pregnancy came sooner than I hoped it would (!).  As the weeks went on, I told her she was having twins. It was easy to see that she was "large for dates". When Tory had her 18 week scan, she had popped out from work. On her return, she plonked the scan on my desk with the words "you were right!"

Tory's twins were born just at the start of the ghastly foot and mouth epidemic. She was isolated on their farm and no one was allowed to visit. Her mother passed casseroles over the fence.

Here we are now. Lucy and Tom have finished university. Tom has decided to farm and Lucy is soon to start teaching English Literature in Hammersmith.

My first extra is another one of my lovely team from that time. Louisa was one of the nurses. She was at the Point to Point with husband, Gavin. Their son is 18 and about to sit A levels. (How the years slip by!!)

Lou said some lovely things to me about our time working together. We had a super team and it was a good time. I think we helped a lot of families.

Just so you know I was at the races, there is a second extra.

There was a lot to think about as I observed the different "tribes" at the event. There is an unwritten dress code for those who go into the Sponsors' tent. On the other side of the field tea, coffee, bacon butties, chips and hot dogs were served to the rest of us.

There was a very happy atmosphere throughout the day, despite the changeable weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.