Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Brian

He is one of my all time favourite people.

I started the day by meeting the long walkers before they set off from Wall Village for a 10 mile walk (slog).

Then to Haydon Bridge to deliver some orders of service from Mum’s funeral to the chapel. I saw Diana Bell waiting for the Haltwhistle bus, so gave her a lift. She’s always cheery, even when telling me that it is nearly 40 years since she married. Her husband died 27 years ago. The family are coming together for a celebratory meal.

In Haltwhistle I headed for Brian and Maureen’s. No answer, but the house was open. No answer as I explored, but I found Brian in their back lounge.

Maureen had been taken into hospital as an emergency last night. Brian was unsure what was wrong. He had tried to speak to her by phone but could not understand what she was saying.

Gill, their excellent carer, had been with soup for lunch and defrosted an evening meal.

Maureen phoned me later. She had spent all night on a trolley in A&E. She was sent home during the afternoon, very tired. More social care is being offered.

I’m sure there should be an alternative system for the very elderly when they are taken to A&E.

I met the walkers again for a drink to celebrate Chris and Gwen’s 70th birthdays. Turns out that Humshaugh Bitter is actually Cameron Smooth. Very pleasant it is too.

Tonight I went with Kate and Chris to see Wicked Little Letters. Hmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.