Plant Care

Today there's been cloudy and a strong easterly wind. Cold, although temperature is around +8. I think I'll stay in all day.

We had a day of washing the windows in a room and the balcony glasses. All the windows were supposd to be washed, but the wind was too hard for that. My job was doing the spring care for the three ampel plants hanging by the window.

I don't change soil for them very often, just every few years. As can be seen from the sides of the pot in the picture. I cut and clear the plants. But no, I didn't wash them with soaps in the back. Some years I put to all plant pots the nutrient sticks, or only to some of them. These three plants got the sticks. I did this in the bathroom tub, it's easier to clean after than the balcony, where it's also still too cold to do this.

The plant in the picture is a 'prayer plant' in English (Maranta leuconeura). We here call it "nukkumatti" meaning a sandman. The plant closes its leaves at night. The sticks shown in the picture must be pressed completely into the soil. I removed most of the branches from all three plants, left only new ones. It took a couple of hours, and our bathroom is warm, nearly hot, for the one side of the tub is a radiator by which I stood. Huh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.