pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Everything fades

Felt out of sorts today and not actually feeling all that well. 

I popped over to my parents where my father commented the same, so we kept our distance from each other and I beat a hasty retreat.

Managed to get through a couple of meetings and keep control of the inbox though, renewing another customer and fighting to keep another who said they had mistakenly transferred away. I used that one to fertilise my tulips…

My sense of unease of how I make a living is continuing to gnaw at me, along with the dread that I may reach the end of working life having only ever been in the insurance industry. I think that would be enough to make anyone blue.

I tried to shake myself out of it and took a walk around town, also taking time to snap this beautiful magnolia adjacent to Abbot Hall.

Returning home I finally finished Klara and The Sun which left me feeling a little ambivalent, but linked nicely with the final episodes of Beef on Netflix, where a refrain in the dialogue was “everything fades”. In some ways it could be taken as depressing, but I quite liked the gentle inevitable positivity of the phrase as it is a reminder to enjoy things whilst you have them at their brightest.

A bit like snapping a magnolia tree in its pomp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.