Last Day

Up and at em for breakfast. It’s a busy hotel - lots of families taking advantage of the relatively cheap breakfast which is fine for me for these three mornings but would get fed up of for any longer. If you have a Ben and a Cameron who like to eat it’s good value for sure!

We had tickets booked for 10:40 on the Eye. I expected longer in the queue but we were in the pod 10 mins later. Great views over the city. It’s hard to imagine the total population of Scotland is the same as London. But then maybe not hard to imagine as there are always people everywhere. Fine for a holiday but I do like to be somewhere without hoardes.

After the eye we walked under Westminster bridge to where this photo was taken (badly by my daughter who cut off C’s feet and would not take another one)!!!

This was next to the St Thomas’ hospital where there is the wall of hearts with each one having a name of someone who died of Covid. I found it quite moving.

We walked over the WM Bridge where I made Cameron recreate a photo I took of him in July 2013 on this bridge.

We walked to Whitehall, Downing Street and over to Covent Garden. It started raining but S, and Ben stood and watched a performer in the rain. I looked for a loo. This is quite a difficult thing to do here in London it seems. Not the looking but the finding. I eventually found a paid one - cost of a pound to pee. I wouldn’t mind but it wasn’t clean. You pay a pound but the lazy ass person there stands around not cleaning it. Deep sigh…. Why don’t places just let folks in and use the loos instead of keeping them locked .

We had a refreshment in the most amazing Korean pastry cafe. Best croissants and coffee of the trip. Sat next to a delightful young student of medicine, from Birmingham, in her final year before becoming a Junior Doctor. We covered many subjects and I told her that I hoped they got their pay rise. They deserve it! More so than these bastarts sitting in WM along the road .

Headed back over the Thames to the Tate Modern which is near the hotel. We picked up the cases and walked back over the bridge to Liverpool Street station for the train to Stanstead. Our flight was at 9pm and had a wee browse through the duty free. Plenty available seats too. Flight was uneventful and I had the row to myself. Great seeing the lights of Edinburgh as we flew in.

Home after midnight - we were exhausted!

A great trip with the family and LOTS OF STEPS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.