If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Marsh Marigold ( Caltha palustris )

Over the last couple of days, I have been pressure washing the woodwork at the Lodge prior to giving a new coat of wood preservative.  Today after I had finished the washing I was cutting the grass round the edges of what is hopefully going to be the wild flower "meadow".

Last summer we planted a couple of hundred young plants of about 17 species.  Now we wait to see how many have survived the winter and bloom this year.  Today I spotted the first signs of success!  We planted a few damp loving plants in an area which is badly drained and often waterlogged.  That was where I saw this Marsh Marigold flower.  I know there weren't Marsh Marigolds last year so, signs of success!

For my own record today I saw the first House Matins of the year, a pair inspecting the nestbox which last year was unused.  Possibly a youngster from the two broods raised in the box beside the one they were inspecting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.