63 F / 17 C

Spring has barely made
a start on Rose Hill - patches
of snow can be found

~ carliewired

I tried very hard to muster some energy this morning. I was up, had breakfast and was back in bed by 10 AM. I finally left the house about noon. 

I thought if I treated myself to a trip to the quilt store, I'd be sure to feel better instantly. I found some fabric for a quilt underway. Then K handed me some crumbs and some batting bits that really made my day. She knows I'm making quilted hearts. 

Since I was so close to Rose Hill Road I thought I'd give it a try. Spring can bring some mud to that road, so there was a risk with my shiny new car. I got my first shot of the zig zaggy rail fence at the bottom of the road. Past the first rise, I spotted a row of mule deer strung along the crest of the hill. This is what happens to your brilliant shot when you fail to put your glasses on. They scampered away before I got a second chance. 

At the summit of the road there were signs of winter. In places, the snow hugged the road and there were wet patches to roll through. I got some long shots of the landscape and that aging machine shed and battered pond. The horses along the fence line were a bonus today. 

It was after 3 when I returned home. New fabric and a drive in the country had perked me up. Time for a cup of tea, a crumpet and a nap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.