A Garden Day

I picked up my former SIL and we went to the far east boundaries of Portland to a plant sale run by an acquaintance of mine and friend of the botanical garden. Saw a lot of folks I knew and bought three Sarracenia to replace the ones that succumbed during this cold wet spring. Darlingtonia is the common name. There’s a local guy who hybridizes them - and you might remember that he gave me quite a number last fall. At any rate, I thought it would be good to support him. See extra. These lovelies will sit in a tray of water and get baked by the sun in my courtyard (when the sun finally emerges that is).

I spent the afternoon in the courtyard, planting all sorts of things in containers. I still haven’t planted the olive tree - it just feels too darned wet and it’s going to rain (again) tomorrow. Next week should be lovely, finally.

I got this gorgeous dahlia yesterday and it’s in one of my blue pots. I promise photos of the courtyard next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.