NOT QUITE INTERNATIONAL RESCUE

Hubby and I went over to see Mum today.  Had a good visit and checked she was OK, which she is, remarkable for a 91 year old really.

Then on the way home we drove via The Prom.  The Morecambe Bay Yacht/Boat club were out so I thought I'd stop to try and take some photos.  The one I really wanted was of a small wooden boat with bright red sails, but sadly by the time I managed to walk back to where it could be seen, the sails were down and the boat moored upamost on the shore.  However what was unfolding before me was this little rescue.  The boat with the sail had got stuck up on the tide defence rocks so a gentleman was wading out to them to help pull them out.  

Now it's not the best of photos but it does capture the rescue.  I did hang around in case they needed another pair of hands, but it wasn't necessary. I spoke the guy wading out and he said it was very typical of Morecambe Bay and happened quite often, especially whe there were strong cross winds like today.

After that we just drove home - saw a Police van whizzing past us with the blue lights flashing and sirens going, they stopped a little further up the prom and were talking to someone in a very low slung, very expensive looking sports car.  No idea what it was all about.

Then at Carnforth there was a cycle race coming towards us.  They soon whizzed past so I don't knw where it started or ended.

On the way home my phone gave out the Goverment Alert siren as has been advertised.  I had warned Mum about it, but neither hers, Gs nor Hubbys went off - this is because they are Pas as You Go and only 3Gs.  So it's OK then, only people with smart phones can be alerted if there's a major incident with a poissible danger to life!!!!??

That's all for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.