Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Ultraviolet robin?

No camera walk today, just a dog walk and then some gardening.  As I was turning over the top bed a robin came planing in to pick up worms.  I'd hoped s/he would so had the camera out there (carefully away from the earth) and had even dug in a spade for a visitor to perch on, but this was declined.  Having got worms the robin sat on a tree and sang its little heart out.  Oh how I love these birds.

Much of the afternoon I've been reading Ed Yong's book on animal senses, An Immense World, in which I discovered two interesting factoids about robins.  First that these most stay-at-home birds can navigate over huge distances by using the world's magnetic field.  Why?  They don't go anywhere?  Second that 'more than 90% of songbirds whose sexes are indistinguishable to us' (as robin's are) infact have UV patterns in their feathers that tell them apart to other birds.  Blue tits are a prime example.

Humans can be very blind ;)))

Okay, that's enough stuff from me.  Have a great Sunday evening and a good start to your week  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.