Road Trip

Last night at work was long and boring! It wasn't totally quiet but it still dragged...

Instead of sitting up half the night drinking and playing online games like teenagers, we had an early night to be fresh for today's trip to Wigan to watch the game.

I got up at 8 AM, but 7.30 AM might have been better... it was a rush! Anyway, we were away more or less on time and went for lunch in Burger King in Wigan. The plant based Whoppers are amazing! I seriously thought they may have given me a meat one by mistake. It tasted the same I'm sure. It has been a while since I ate a "meat" burger and I think the texture may have been slightly different, but not significantly!

Anyway! On to the game! It was played in weather that featured rain, sun, rain and sun together and dark cloud by turn.  Wigan won, but it was only 22-6, not the hammering I was hoping for. Enough to put us top of the table though!

Wigan seem to set their level of play at "enough to get the job done" which may be a worthwhile tactic in the long run. Honestly... Wakefield could hardly be any worse if they put 12 retired seaside donkeys and a kit containing five rats and a squirrel on the pitch. If Wigan had played at the same standard as they did against their last two more illustrious opponents they would have blown them away by a cricket score!

The Doomsday Alarm test occurred at 3pm, delaying kick-off for 5 minutes for no reason at all. Total damp squib, we did not hear it at all! My phone buzzed in Brian's pocket and displayed a text message on the screen but that was it! There were around 9000 people in the stadium and we heard precisely nothing!

We headed home via a pitstop for a drink and snack at a service station. We sat there and followed the penalties between United and Brighton. Glad to see United made it to Wembley - they made harder work of it than Wigan did their game. They must do better in the final, and I'm sure they will!

 I took my shot from the car as we were travelling - it was raining and the spray was flying! I'd taken a couple of Rugby shots but they were rubbish, mostly because my brain does not like the kind of technical knowledge required to get decent action shots!

Home now and time to relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.