Mono Monday

The challenge today is France or French. Well I have been racking my brain to think what I had that was connected to France…chocolates? No. Champagne? No. A beret? No. Maybe a book, now there is a possibility there is something I can use. After trawling through some mostly unused bookshelves I found these treasures and the tea towel was a gift from Isbi which was in the tea towel drawer as you would expect. 

I’ve been to France twice, the first time with the family in 1976 when we spent a week with Dad’s cousin Gerry who lived in Paris. The next time was a day trip from a cruise to Aix en Provence. I remember having a delicious lunch in an outdoor courtyard where there was an old trough dated 1400s. My schoolgirl French has mostly evaporated but I have recently taught myself to play the national anthem. Luckily blip doesn’t have a musical connection. 

The extra is the first book Ann Cleeves wrote back in 1986. You can really notice her inexperience in those days, the later ones are much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.