ANZAC Day

…is celebrated in Australia and New Zealand each year to remember those who fought in the many wars over the years. It is a public holiday and marches and services are held around the country. 

 ANZAC biscuits were sent to the troops as they had ingredients that didn’t go off during the long voyage overseas. The recipe is under protection by the Department of Veterans Affairs and while commercial production is usually allowed the biscuits must not deviate from the original recipe. They must be called biscuits (not cookies). I used the CWA ( Country Women’s Association) recipe for these. They had a bit more water than my usual recipe and came out flatter but the perfect consistency. A few might have been eaten for morning tea. 

I decided to visit my elderly neighbour as her son was out all day doing stuff….she gets lonely and I thought it would be more useful than going to a March. I took her some biscuits which she loved. She made us both a cup of coffee, I haven’t had a cuppa with her before, usually just talk. Or listen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.