Pinkhairedlady

By Pinkhairedlady

Horta, Faial, Azores

I had the best night’s sleep I’ve had in ages and bounced out of bed just after 8. We got ourselves organised and had breakfast and headed off to be herded onto the lifeboats to head to the port. I don’t really mean herded, it was very well organised. We were given a ticket and treated to a few minutes of Fawlty Towers before our number was called and we could head to the gangway. Very charming crew members helped us onto the lifeboat and within a couple of minutes we travelled the short distance to the port terminal. Never did find out why we can’t dock in the actual harbour, but no matter.

Today is Freedom day so a public holiday so very few places were open but we did find a lovely cafe where 2 coffees and 2 pastel de natas were less than 5 euros. The cafe used to have its own orchestra back in the 1920s, how decadent.

A nice wander along the harbour looking at all the many paintings done by sailors who have visited the port over the years.

Simply had to stop at Peter’s bar for a G&T which turned into a glass of vinho verde (known locally as green wine) and lunch. We bought a pack of posters of Azorean birds, animals and sealife which we will frame at home and no doubt spend ages debating where to hang them.

The main square was full of happy families celebrating their holiday and many people were carrying red carnations. A quick check on t’interweb gave me this https://www.officeholidays.com/amp/holidays/portugal/portugal-freedom-day

Caught up on a few days of blip before heading to the teatime teaser on my own. Sat with one of the choir ladies and don’t know if the questions are easier or we were just lucky but we scored a respectable 9 to the winning score of 14.

Watched the final lifeboat being winched aboard, just fascinating and all stowed away within 10 minutes.

Dinner wasn’t the best as I had to send my lemon sole dish back as it tasted too fishy. My replacement meal was much better.

Watched the cruise version of who wants to be a millionaire where the arcing contestant went all the way to a million point and won……a pair of branded flip flops!

Tonight’s show ‘54’ was disco themed so I went by myself as Mr PHL is nit into that kind of music but was lucky enough to bump into the guest act of a few nights ago and he was gracious enough to take a selfie with me.

V late to bed and we’re up early in the morning - oops.

Thank you for hearing with me. I’ve but managed to look at journals but will try to soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.