Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A very special day

First of all I took Arth for a brisk 5 mile walk which I loved and he grumbled about a bit (but only a bit). Hooray.

Then I took Mum to Sunderland to see Joyce and Ernie who are both in the same hospital but on separate wards. The wards are on the same floor and staff have been saying they would take J to see E, but have never managed it. My good deed for the day was to facilitate the meeting. This did involved me in a wheelchair hunt which took me all over the hospital. I was very persistent (stubborn me? never!) until I found one.

E was ecstatic. He held J's hand and asked if I could arrange for her to stay all night. (No camera with me to capture the hand holding.)

Ernie's is clearly deteriorating and I won't do another rant about his care but I'd like to.

Then we called at Ewesley Road Methodist Church which was our church when we lived in Sunderland. We knew there was a special Desert Island Discs for the minister this afternoon. We arrived at the end - even after the tea - but we saw many old friends. "All looking a lot older", commented Mum.

One very special friend is Meda who keeps in touch with us by letter and phone. We took her home, to her new flat in a warden controlled complex for the elderly. We were able to see Douglass, her husband of over 60 years. They are very precious friends and here, after the "formal" portraits, they kissed.

Yes, a very special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.