72 F/ 22C

Our summer weather
has stalled - cooler. wet days are
in the forecast now

~carliewired

I slept in until 9 and headed off to the Red Lake Road at 10 AM. 

Our summery sunshine lasted only the weekend. It brought the sunworshippers out onto the river's beaches but now we're back to grey skies. There's some rain in the forecast for this week and we could really use it. There are two wild fires burning already in the province. 

I drove up the washboardy gravel road to the first landing where I can see over the valley. There's a lot of sandbar exposed along the river channel. I took several shots from that lookout to make my panorama. 

On the way back down into the valley, I stopped to have a look at Tranquille River (really a creek). It's flowing fast and muddy. Foam is swirling in eddies and the water is lapping on the trees. 

I stopped for a photo of the tunnel in Battle Bluff. I just missed a freight train this morning. 

I got a shot of the wetlands pond which will begin to expand as spring runoff continues and the river rises. I think I saw a pair of cranes here, but I was so busy gawking I didn't pull up my camera. 

I'm in for the day practicing my stitch witchery. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.