biddy

By biddy

Coronation Day 1953.

This is an old photo of the children (including me) of our neighbourhood who were given a party at the local slipper works which was at the bottom of my street, where I grew up. In Rawtenstall, the Rossendale Valley, Lancashire.
I vaguely remember being in what would have been a large canteen for some food and then games.
The photo was in the local paper.
In 2012 the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth’s Accession we recreated the photo, with those of us who were still around of course.
Most of us travelled from various parts of England, one person from Jersey in the Channel Islands!
It was a very close knit community of 6 streets bounded by a factory on one side and a recreation ground at the other.
At the top of the streets were rolling fields and hills.
At the bottom a main road and a river at the other side.
A photographer from the local paper came and took a photo of the recreated scene.
I had a happy childhood playing in those streets and roaming the fields and hills with or without anyone else.
It is funny to think that our grandchildren will most likely see two Coronations in their lifetimes.
Here’s a link to a blog I wrote about my childhood.

http://musingsofateadrinker.blogspot.com/2011/04/childhood-friends-of-50s-and-60s.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.