Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Not in the haar now...

It's much too late to be up and doing (almost 12.30am) but we're home, in the cloudy shores of Argyll as opposed to the haar of Leith docks last night, and I fell asleep downstairs. Last night's blip nearly finished me - I had several edits to do when I re-read it this morning - and I slept like a log the moment I put the phone down. The Malmaison has the most comfortable beds (this was our second stay there) with wonderfully soft extra pillows in drawers (I like a soft top pillow), and having wakened with a wild thirst I decided I didn't want breakfast as much as I wanted to slake the thirst and go back to sleep, so that at 9.15am I was still sitting in bed drinking tea. We then had a bit of a scamper to pull ourselves together to check out, but 11am saw us out on the cobbles waiting for our taxi, aka Ewan, to pick us up, chatting to an American couple on holiday who were waiting for an Uber.

We had lunch at Ewan's, sampled Anna's chai latte (excellent) and doled out some encouragement to Catriona who'd been revising Eng Lit for her S4 exam on Wednesday. She's very serious about her work, her music and her daily exercise - she left for an hour's bash around the harbour and the coastal road before settling down to more work. Then, crazily and heroically, Ewan drove us home, had a quick coffee and some chocolate, filled up on cheap gas, and drove home again, arriving back just as I was cooking our dinner. Somehow he once again - he's always doing this - got a mention on Bryan Burnett's radio show Get it On, managing somehow to ensure that the two of us were named as well. He texted to say we could hear him on BBC Sounds ...

The photo was taken as the ferry pulled in to pick us up at McInroy's Point, from where our bit of Argyll coast is hidden behind that low strip of cloud with the black tops of the hills visible above it. It rained just as we pulled up outside our house. 

Bonus: the double bin collection, usually on a Monday, had not happened, so we were able to drag our two bins down to the gate to join all the others, so presumably they'll be emptied tomorrow. Result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.