Teasel

By Teasel

River Tweed

The haar was still here this morning.  BB went to church and I took things slowly.  I had no intention of watching the coronation and didn’t really, but I put the TV on and did see some of the horses and watched the orchestra while I had some breakfast.  That was it really.  I did wonder at the responsibility of organising such a spectacle though.  It takes event organising to a whole new level.
 
Late morning we three departed for Kelso, the location of BB’s football match.  I was in two minds whether to go or not, abut decided to join them.  Just as we were going over Soutra, we encountered blue sky, it was lovely to look over the fog cloaked East Lothian.  The journey south was lovely, though as we got closer to Kelso the clouds were thickening.  We dropped BB of and went to find some lunch, then sat in the sunshine, in the square in front of the town hall and ate our lunch.  A fellow football dad joined us briefly, but headed off to get his own lunch before the match started.
 
TT went back to watch the game and I went for a wander.  I haven’t been in Kelso for a long time when the shops have been open, as BB used to play on a Sunday.  I had a wander to find that quite a few shops were closed for the Coronation.  I walked past the abbey – which is closed and continued along the river and watched a fisherman way out in the water.  I could see the clouds getting darker and could hear thunder in the distance, so didn’t think it was wise to go too far.
 
The temperature also rose and it became muggy.  There were also swarms of flies which were quite unpleasant, however the swallows were in heaven swooping and feasting on them.  I wandered back into town and picked up a sandwich for BB and headed back to the football.  Just in time as the rain was starting.  Luckily the match was just finishing.  BB’s team wo,  and with that they have won their league. 
 
We drove home through terrible rain, coming over the Lammermuirs – which was probably not the best route to choose, given the weather.  Once home I went out for the rest of my steps, while TT cooked tea using up some leftover chicken and a cauliflower he had forgotten he had bought and of which I was completely unaware.  Later BB was off out with the football lads to celebrate – all descending on one of their houses.  He came home before midnight though!
 
BB’s had a good week, rugby 7s champions, football league winners and his silver Duke of Edinburgh certificate was waiting on the doormat when we got home from Kelso  today.

Here's the fisherman just downstream from the confluence of the Teviot and the Tweed, before the storm. I understand it's a good place to fish.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.