carliewired

By carliewired

77 F/ 25 C

A beautiful day
to step out into - sunshine
and blue sky above

~carliewired

I was out the door just after 6. There was dazzling sunshine pouring into my house and I could not resist the urge to go find some goslings. 

I drove into McArthur Island Park  turning north to drive the loop road. There was a number of Canada goose families all along the Rivers Trail on the north side of the slough. I noticed that they were having a number of territorial disputes between themselves as they ushered the goslings on the grass above the slough. The little ones stick pretty close to a parent busying themselves with pecking the ground. 

The slough itself has filled with water from the river. Part is clogged with plant debris floating on the surface. 

I moved over to the south side along the river. There were just a few marmots venturing out this morning. I noticed a new sign has been posted advising people not to feed the marmots. However, there were the remains of handouts on the ground. 

I caught a couple of marmots on the tree stump they seem to like for sunning. Behind them the river looks full and shiny. My mountains seemed a little hazy again today. 

There are evacuation orders for Cache Creek, an hour east of us. They've been directed to come to the McArthur Island Centre. Flooding in their area has caused huge disruptions in traffic there. A major 4 lane highway has been reduced to one lane. A baby was born in that line up that was intended to have arrived in Kamloops!

I was back home before 7:30 with breakfast and coffee in hand. I'm in for the day sorting the last of my quilting projects. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.