South Shore and Sunshine

A surprise of some
sunshine to brighten my mood
was very welcome

~ carliewired

I was on my deck just before 6 to get a good look at the sunrise. The layer of cloud obscured my view but the light and brightness was such a treat after so many grim mornings. It was calm and 5 C. 

I was off to Riverside Park to see what was happening with the reconstruction. I can summarize - not much! With only 6 weeks until our Canada Day celebrations, I would say they need to get a hustle on. 

I parked on the west side near the tennis courts. All was quiet there this morning. I was expecting to see a pickle ball game but there was nothing. 

I walked towards the bike path to the Overlander Bridge where I can get a good view of the rivers. There is very little sand to be seen now. Both rivers are rising. Big eddies swirl at the confluence. The survivor tree must have very wet feet now. 

I walked back into the park and just got a fleeting look at a pair of Canada geese with their goslings on the river shore. They seemed to sense my intrusion and slowly edged the goslings under the vegetation out of my view. 

I discovered marmots have set up house at the Celtic Stones. Typical of our south shore, it appeared to be a condo. One marmot had a lookout/balcony on the second floor. The other munched along at the patio level. 

I left my quilted heart (giraffe) on a bench near the Celtic Stones. 

I have an urge to head off to the quilt store this morning. I'll see where that takes me. Should have my daughter here for dinner tonight. 

I am going to enjoy this surprising sunny day. We're to expect a high of 17 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.