On the Clock

I must be hasty
this morning as my time is
very limited

~ carliewired

The view from my deck was not promising this morning at 6 AM. It was overcast, calm and 8 C. I left for Vantage Point on the river then, forgetting to dismiss my security cameras so I had my going and coming clearly recorded. LOL!

The view from Vantage Point was not an improvement. The dog walkers will have little beach now. Sandbars are gone and the shoreline is slowly disappearing under the spring melt. I watched a pair of Canada geese explore the shoreline near the float plane dock. They slid back into the river and quickly moved downstream with the current. I was hoping for goslings, but none were in view. I left my quilted heart on a fence post along the Rivers Trail. 

I picked up my drive-thru breakfast on the the return home. I cut down one side street to a train crossing. Unfortunately for me, the Canadian National line had an extraordinarily long line of potash cars pulling into the station to the east. I sat in my car sipping my large coffee and wishing I'd taken an alternate route home. I noticed that the memorial for a young man is being maintained at the crossing. He lost his life in a vehicle collision with the train here. I'd blipped this some years ago. 

I noted that gas prices at the pump have risen to $1.94/litre this week. Some places in the province record prices over $2/litre. On our national radio, CBC, there was a long discussion about the reasons for this rise despite oil companies recording record profits while also receiving government subsidies. 

I have an appointment for 10 AM this morning so my blip has taken a back seat. 

We might expect some showers on this cloudy day. We can look forward to a high of 18 C. Our upper level highways are once again warned of a snowfall overnight - as much as 4 inches/10 centimetres. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.