carliewired

By carliewired

Closed

Maintenance is an
essential for all public
facilities.....but!

~ carliewired

I guess there's never a perfect time to close and attend to maintenance. Today looked rather grey and grim. Might just as well be 'closed' as well. 

After getting my groceries I drove over to Riverside Park to find it was a mess of dirt and equipment. I parked near the tennis courts as usual. I picked my way through the dirt heaps and dodged the equipment in motion to get to the pier. Train cars were being shunted across the railway bridge. We don't find this bridge in use very often so it did get my attention, 

My second surprise was finding wood ducks on the river. They are beautiful. These fellows winter down south - Mexico, Cuba, Bahamas. You really need to see them in sunshine to appreciate their colouring and the sheen they have. (The males, of course.) One bold raven tracked me around the river shore. A solitary Canada goose strolled the walkway like a taxpaying resident. I see the bird patrol was in evidence. That orange gizmo must have done its duty before I got there.  

A few cyclists whizzed by while I was there. I saw one lone 'performer' in the bandshell today. I think he was doing tai chi. ( During the winter there was a soloist who performed all types of songs unaccompanied.....enough said.) The park was largely quiet but for the work crews. 

As I walked back to my vehicle I saw that the tennis courts were also closed and under construction. I chatted briefly with a nice young man working there who explained that some of the tennis courts were being converted for pickle ball. I know as much about that as I do about disc golf. 

Looks like we're in for some rain today. We're promised a high of 18 C which might be a bit optimistic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.