carliewired

By carliewired

Rivers Trail West

Birds and blue sky were
the order of the day when
I drove to Tranquille

~ carliewired

My first surprise was the osprey perched way up on a power pole. He was watching all that was going on in his neighbourhood. I noticed some haze or smoke in the South Thompson Valley. I don't know the source. Canadian National trains were moving through fast and frequent. 

I parked by the western terminus of the Rivers Trail and walked along the route for about a half a kilometre. This portion is on the dike and goes along the west side of the Cinnamon Ridge composting site. It is owned and operated by the city and produces beautiful black top soil from the garden waste/grass clippings of city residents. The site got its name from the geological formation on the hills above it. This part of the trail is a haven for dogs as they can be off leash. 

I got a photo of a Western Kingbird. This is their breeding ground so they are very busy at the moment setting up housekeeping and/or feeding a brood. 

The trail passes hayfields and pasture land on the way to the Thompson River and past the airport. I could see the planes coming up off the runway at the airport. My mountains, Mt. Peter and Mt. Paul were off in the distance to the east. 

This would be my Mother's birthday today. She would be 100. Sadly, she's been gone for 10 years now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.