carliewired

By carliewired

Rose Hill Road

In spite of rain clouds
all above the valleys, my
drive was bright and dry

~ carliewired

My last attempt to follow this road from end to end was a failure. As last time, I started from the Merritt Highway and turned east onto the Rose Hill Road. It was wintery, too wintery, and I had to turn around and head home. (See Jan.31/21)

Today, it was its marvelous best - dry roads, mostly sunny and rather quiet. The ranchlands were covered in cattle, including many shiny, new calves. I took my time climbing up the south exposure and I looked out over the rolling grasslands. 

On the north exposure, facing the Thompson Valley, I got to see the top of Mt. Peter and Mt. Paul in profile. (a quarter turn from my usual view of them) There are some large fields like meadows on that side. Today, Canada geese were hunkered down having a rest. 
A rather large housing development is under construction on the north exposure. I suspect some of the houses planned will have some very nice views of the city and the valleys. I hope the  owners will all have 4 wheel drive because it's quite a climb from the downtown. I believe an old ranch/farm has been sold to provide for this development. I had to crawl through this site as the road has been demolished by the big equipment currently working there. 

At its highest point, Rose Hill Road is just over 1000 m. The road winds down to the city again and onto Valleyview Drive on the city's east side. The elevation of the city is approximately 345 m. The elevation has made this area very popular with mountain bike enthusiasts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.