Limited Access - East Side Only

Another morning
with grey and cloudy skies - not
tempting me at all! 

~ carliewired

I was up just before 6 to judge the weather. A grey morning does not inspire me to do anything except make a pot of coffee. While I sat in my recliner sipping my first brew, the sun began to make an appearance brightening up my living room. At 7:30 I left for McArthur Island. 

As I backed out my little red bomber, I caught a glimpse of a chukar moving through the cul de sac. It was making the most plaintive calls. Did it lose its mate? It wandered up the street and disappeared into a yard. 

I drove into McArthur Island Park to discover it was a construction zone. The paving was being removed. My access to the island was very limited. I could only turn left and park across from the recreation centre. It was definitely going to be a short jaunt this morning. 

I walked back along the path beside the roadway so I could see into the east side of the slough. This end connects with the Thompson River. I saw a pair of American wigeons preening on a fallen log. There were several mallards and Canada geese, but I was hoping for goslings. My surprise was a beaver that popped up and quickly disappeared. 

I walked back into the park and along the Rivers Trail towards the river. A jogger came along to warn me of a pair of Canada geese with goslings on the path ahead of me. That was just what I wanted to hear! I walked up slowly to the boat launch to find a pair with three goslings. The parents were herding their babies through the grass while watching carefully for dangers. They led them through the grass, then down the slope to the water and sailed off into the slough. 

I left my quilted heart on a bench by the sundial. I had to wait to get out of the park as the workers were carving up the pavement where I was parked. 

I might need to go out again today. I'm craving meatballs and I'm all out of hamburger. Otherwise, I have my sewing machine to keep me company today. 

We're in for a mix of sun and cloud with a high of 16 C. There's a bit of warming trend as the week unfolds. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.