The North River

A feeble sun rose
giving us some half light in
our Monday morning

~ carliewired

I was awake all too early and made my first coffee before 5 AM. One look outside told me we couldn't expect anything remarkable for weather today. I waited until 7 to head down the hill. 

My location today was the two bridges on the North Thompson River. I parked in front of two empty lots near the Halston Bridge. I got a good look at the river to see there's no sand exposed now. The water is shallow but all the sandbars are covered. With our cool spring, this river hasn't been rising as we might hope it will. Authorities are concerned about flooding. The drainage system for this river has a 139% snowload from the winter. We don't want to have the melt come all at once. 

Canada geese seem to have an abnormal attraction to our bridges. Today they were making so much noise along the Halston Bridge. I have no idea why they are interested. It is not a place one would expect to see nest building. It's rather noisy with all its traffic. 

I walked under the railway bridge along the Rivers Trail. A beautiful ornamental cherry tree is in full bloom and hanging over the fence. I left my quilted heart (koala bear) on the fence beside it. I got my shot of the railway bridge and headed back. 

A Canadian Pacific train was pulling coal cars west on the Canadian National Railway line. It's a novelty for me to see that although I've heard that the two railway companies do share this track. The engine switched its headlights on as it came onto the bridge. 

Walking back to my car I noticed something green and brown in the middle of the river channel. I thought perhaps a small boat had been grounded. It wasn't until I uploaded my photos that I realized it was a round bale of hay with green plastic wrapped around it. That makes me think that there's already some flooding upriver. 

As I stood near the Halston Bridge I found a wild crabapple tree in blossom. It was tangled with a lilac, also in blosson. They made a great pairing. 

I'm home today and hoping for a quiet one. A nap would be a good thing. 

We have a cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 15 C. The snow that landed on our upper levels yesterday has gone but we could well expect more. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.