Mother's Day in Rain

My Mother's lilacs
bloom in time for her birthday
and for Mother's Day

~ carliewired

My first photo of this new day was just too dismal to share. It was 6 AM, raining with clouds over my mountains and just a chilly 5 C on my deck. 
I drained my pot of coffee before I decided to head across town to St. Andrews on the Square in the downtown. 

I backed my little red bomber out of the garage and startled a couple of chukars that were prowling in my neighbour's driveway. They immediately flew up onto the garage roof. One poised looking back at me. I normally have a ground feeder filled with rolled oats in my yard for them, but we have had some dreadful cases of avian flu so we are to remove all bird feeders from use. 

It was drizzling when I parked in front of the heritage church. I had to drag my dilapidated umbrella out from under the seat so I could make my way around the park while protecting my camera. It's always interesting trying to take photos with one hand while managing a wet umbrella with the other hand. I worked my way around the small park catching some of the spring colour on display.

The weather forecast had warned of snow on our upper levels highways. We're getting rain in the valleys while snow is landing on the highest ridges around the city. As I drove back into my driveway I could see snow on the backside of Mt. Peter behind my Mother's lilacs. Everything is drippy wet this morning. 

I'm home for the day now getting my quilted hearts ready for  distribution during the coming week. My daughter made a lovely tea for me yesterday with savories and scones with clotted cream. Yum! 

Our forecast says we can expect a cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 15 C. 

***Previous blip of St Andrews on the Square.https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2906620657196336193

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.