65 F/ 18 C

Wet and cloudy for
today but warm weather will
be back for week's end

~carliewired

I really didn't know where I wanted to go at 7 AM. I decided I should head west to Tranquille. 

I parked just east of the wetlands pond which has grown to a small lake in size with the melt of previous warm days and the rise in the river. The area looks very different from my last visit on April 27

I took a series of photos looking west to Tranquille to make a panorama of the flood plain. Then I drove to the end of the road to turn around and look for the ospreys that were nesting. I couldn't see into the nest, but one osprey was perched in a tree near the nest as if on guard. I got a shot of it from both sides. I was surprised to see little birds swoop in and land near the osprey, then leave quickly. Were they checking to see what the osprey had for breakfast?

I took a couple of shots into the flood plain below Tranquille Farm. It wasn't until I downloaded these photos that I realized I missed a heron while I was there. I can see it poised along the water channel. I could not see my mountains at all this morning as they are completely obscured by rain clouds. 

I stopped for some groceries and coffee, then returned home before 9. 

I will be home today trying to make some headway on a quilt. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.