pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Car Booty

We had a long-standing engagement at the local school’s boot sale this morning, so m’boy and I were up and out early with a car full of crap no longer required treasured possessions to set up shop.

The early trade was brisk with a small TV, large toy boat and some old fishing rods going before things tailed off a little, but m’boy absolutely loved it and was a natural stall holder. I was most impressed when I disappeared off for a comfort break and returned to find that someone had tried to knock him down on a pair of side tables, but he had held his ground! 

The Youngest joined us not too long after, which seemed to set off a mini buying spree as they toured the boot sale with their earnings, BUT their Nanny has taught them well as they came back with bargain books and an as-new pair of Adidas Predator football boots for £1! Those things retail at anywhere between £30-£40!! Boot sales: they are the future.

With sales and footfall dwindling, we packed up and headed for home (via a quick stop-off for a man on crutches who was going to try and carry a fishing seatbox home). On seeing my collectible Star Wars mugs up for sale and not moving, my sister suggested that we use them as small plant pots. I thought it was a great idea as my spider plants had birthed multiple babies and now we had some cool incubator units for them (see extra).

We had a quick turnaround as girls headed off out for a cake and hot chocolate, m’boy and I headed up to catch the end of the classic and retro car show at Crooklands. It didn’t cost us anything to get it, so we had a nice stroll around checking out the remaining cars. Our joint favourite was the French Alpine A110 which was simply beautiful. I made sure he kept his ice cream well away from it…


Footnote: thanks for your comments re: the incident of the dog in the daytime yesterday. I do actually like dogs and have nothing against them, but I think I’ve made myself clear on selfish, arrogant and thoughtless dog-owners!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.