pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Improving

Today, after singing, I drove to Taverham. I had a brief half hour to eat a bit of lunch, then walked round the big craft shop behind the garden centre. I love the fabric in there, but avoided the fat quarters. I have plenty.

At 2pm I drove a minute up the road to Taverham High School to pick up Josh. He was fortunate enough to not be teaching last lesson and was allowed to leave early. We drove to the hospital and went up to find Mollie sitting in the chair. She looked much better than yesterday, with colour in her cheeks. Her epidural and catheter were removed today, and all waterworks are working fine. The pain, however, is now kicking in so she is receiving a cocktail of alternative pain relief. I left Josh with her so that they could have some time on their own, and went to the canteen for a cup of tea. Then re-joined them half an hour later. She is managing to walk a little and can get to the loo - slowly. The physio was pleased. She is hugely improved from yesterday, even though we were impressed with her then.

I don't think she minds me saying, but Mollie has had an enormous (small melon sized) ovarian cyst removed, that has been growing for probably over a year. It had to be removed whole as it was complex. Due to the shameful (her consultants description) state of the NHS, she has waited since last August (when she first alerted the GP to the large lump in her tummy) for this diagnosis, an appointment, scan, MRI and this eventual outcome. Had we not chased, and called numerous times, in tears, ranting at the GP and the poor hospital staff, in complete desperation, we would still be waiting. Something that should have been simple keyhole surgery a year ago, ends up as major open surgery. We have had months and months of worry. I don't think I've slept properly since Christmas. I think we are only at this point now because I got our local MP involved. If we waited any longer, the outcome doesn't bear thinking about. Something has to be done to rescue the NHS from complete collapse. When my precious girl comes home (possibly tomorrow) I will be spoiling her.

I drove Josh home. Jon had done our dinner. I've just watched the DNA journey - which makes me cry, and now I'm going to bed. I'm drained. Back to County Hall tomorrow. It's nearly the weekend - and even better - it's payday. Can't come soon enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.