Allotmenting

Is there even such a word? Well, there is now. That is what I have spent the last 2 and a half hours or more doing, after finishing work at 5.20 and eating the dinner Jon had prepared. (Kedgeree if you are interested- a quick favourite of his, and i'll eat anything if someone else is cooking!)

I actually took my car to the allotment because I had so much to take, but also wanted to collect as many bags of horse manure from the end of the lane, that would fit in my car. I managed 5, and it proved a proper work out moving them from the boot in a wheelbarrow down to my plot. I proceeded to build fasten and strengthen the frame for my beans and peas, with my radio as company. Its the main time each year when I am reminded how valuable my guiding days were. I have my dear friend Lynn to thank for teaching me knots and lashings, and whilst I'd love nothing more than to have the opportunity to use snake lashing, it is rarely called for. But I always fasten my string to the pole with a clove hitch and square lash two together, ending with a reef knot. I guess most people know those knots, but I do really enjoy it I think it's almost a craft. I don't know any fancy knots but I did also make a guy line to fix one end more securely. Then the runner beans were planted. Lots of watering. I also planted 2 courgette plants, so hopefully from the 4 I grew (2 yellow, 2 green) I will be successful. Everything was very dry and I did numerous trips with my watering can. Hopefully we will get some rain soon. Eventually i packed up just after 8.30. My next trip must be to do just weeding, but I need it to rain first to soften the ground.

Feeling like I've achieved something today. Now for The Sewing Bee..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.