Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Off up the Glen

Today began rather dull and continued that way until mid-afternoon, when the sun began to shine through a cloud-scattered sky.

We'd decided to go on a jaunt up Glen Creran, a lovely wooded glen beside the River Creran, 30 minutes or so NE of Oban. The garden at Fasnacloich was open today under Scotland's Gardens Scheme -  somehow I've been talked into being the official photographer for the SGS. As the name was very familiar we assumed that we'd been before, though couldn't visualise it. 

When we arrived it was obvious that we'd not visited the garden before, very surprising as we'd lived comparatively close for the last 30 years! It's a very beautiful place, alive today with rhododendrons and azaleas and many new plantings all over the garden, which sits beside Loch Baile Mhic Cailein - see extra - through which the river flows.

I met the gardener and also the owner. I was surprised when he said that he knew me - it turned out that he'd attended a Scottish Rhododendron Society visit to Ross Priory and met me there. He must have a good memory as I left there in 1992!

We had a wonderful time, meeting many other people that we knew and being told that I could come back any time - I certainly will!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.