Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

A photo of Fi from where we were awaiting our turn to start scrambling Pinnacle Ridge up to St Sunday Crag.  

It was a bit of a slog up from the valley to reach the start (no mountain legs to speak of) but we had a wait/rest while a guide sorted out his two clients, then we let another couple go first because we wanted to see where they went! But at last we were scrambling and it was great fun. Fi wanted to try out the short rope/moving together technique, fair enough, but it wasn't necessary, and it meant that that the rope was a nuisance to me following but not needing the rope... but an interesting experience is how I'd sum it up. 

At the crux corner we definitely needed the rope as we pitched it, and it was useful when we reached the pinnacles... although more useful to Fi than me! She hated the downclimb from the pinnacles because it was a bit of traverse which is her most hated move, but I didn't mind it.

Funny really because we reached the crux without realising it, and didn't realise that the pinnacles were The Pinnacles  so a slight anti climax, and I believe I said "is that it?"  But it was a thoroughly enjoyable day, even though my knees hurt worse than ever before on the way down to the Patterdale Hotel.

6.16 miles
3,478 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.