Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gotcha!

I was stalking a long-legged fly in the garden today when I spotted this tiny insect on a nearby leaf.  I went into stealth mode (as one does) and slowly moved my lens over to this creature.  And just as I was ready to shoot, it flew!  To a nearby leaf, fortunately, allowing me to get a couple of shots before he took a longer flight.  Initially I thought it might be some sort of assassin bug nymph, but it seems to be a Stilt Bug (Family Berytidae).  A most intriguing little creature and a first for me.  I was using my macro lens with the Raynox150 on board.  Needed it all as this little guy wasn't more than a quarter-inch long.

Also in the yard today were two Cedar Waxwings who were checking out the status of the berries on our shadbush.  Hopefully as the berries set, they will visit again.  There is something so special about waxwings.  

I saw a couple of swallowtails drifting through the yard today, too.  I've got a big patch of dill growing in the garden so hoping that I will get some black swallowtail eggs/caterpillars.  It is still a little early for a lot of the cool summer bugs, but things are definitely picking up.

Jax kept guard on the deck while I planted some of the plants I got this weekend.  I put his elevated bed in a shady spot on the deck and he was very content to hang out and watch.  The only time he really roused himself is when he spotted squirrels for chipmunks on the patio - the terrier in him wants to chase.  Fortunately, at least to this point, the squirrels have been faster than Jax.  Let's hope it stays that way.

We have a Brain Games class with Jax tonight which should be good for some laughs.  Although we are hoping the woman with the German Shepard doesn't come as her dog is rather aggressive and seems to trigger Jax.  At the first class, the dog lunged, showed her teeth and barked at Jax which didn't go over well.  Jax is under the misguided notion that all dogs want to be his friend so he wasn't quite sure how to react to the aggressive behavior.  The owner kept saying "that's just how she says hello"...I was biting my tongue.  

I think some plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.