Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bringing Home the Bacon

I was going to go with a hoverfly today but then I spotted this male robin with a beak full of baby food and had to go with this.  I will tag this for my 2023 Yard Birds record.  I know the robins are nesting somewhere in the grove of trees in the front of the house, but no idea where.  I'll let them keep that a secret.

I should mention that the American Robin is not related to the European Robin - ours being in the thrush family.

In other news, I have been hearing the bluebirds singing for the last few days and even saw them going in and out of another nest box (I haven't replaced the one the bear destroyed.). I am holding out a crazy little bit of hope that maybe all or some of the youngsters managed to escape the bear raid last week - I may never know for sure, but I'm going to hope.  

Last night's Brain Games class with Jax was so-so.  The Shepard once again greeted him with snarls and a barking, but the owner managed to get her under control after that.  Unfortunately, by then Jax was off his game and was showing a lot of signs of stress and anxiety.  We pulled him out early and I'm making arrangements with the instructor to do the final session privately.  

I got my mammogram and ultrasound results back; the mammogram was clean but the ultrasound showed something very, very small that they want to follow up on in 6 months.  Most likely it is nothing, but there is a small part of me that is just a little worried.  Just in the last few weeks, I've known of two other women who are having a recurrence of breast cancer right now.  I keep reminding myself of all the women I know who have been 5, 10, 15 years with no issues.  

Time to go entertain the dog!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.