Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My, What Long Horns You have!

I was actually on the phone when I saw the first tentative wave of a long black antennae extending from under the patio table.  Never missing a beat in the conversation, I scooted my chair a bit away from the table (you know, just in case...) and waited for the owner of the antennae to show itself.  It was quickly apparent that it was some sort of long-horned beetle.  The white spot on the back narrowed down the ID to White Spotted Sawyer Beetle, Genus Monochamus.  A very cool find and not a species I've ever seen before.

I eventually moved it off the deck and put it in some vegetation in the garden where it disappeared before I could even grab a shot.  For perspective, the body is nearly an inch long and the antennae each over 2 inches.  Quite a spectacular little beast!

Yoga this morning which was wonderful, as always.  A lot of time spent on pelvic floor and lower back today.  Then some time in the garden before my allergies kicked in with a vengeance.  I'll be glad when the pollen settles down a bit.  

We are headed into a three day weekend with Monday being the Memorial Day holiday.  And the day I will be boarding a flight to the west coast to see my parents!  

Dark with almonds and sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.