Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Restoring faith ….

Today’s visit to the Royal Liverpool Hospital is a surprisingly positive one - enough to restore my faith in the caring values of the NHS, to at least go some way towards this.

I’m scheduled for two scans today, in two completely different locations - but the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, even without being asked. Clearly records are to hand and they read them, are proactive and recognise that I have another appointment in a different location before I even mention this. Wait times are minimal - despite my first scan being in the A&E department, and every patient is treated kindly, with warmth, humour and respect. 

There’s some confusion about tomorrow’s appointment, my letter and later text reminder listing different hospitals, so while I’m here I pop up to Cardio-respiratory to check. They confirm I am scheduled for Broadgreen, but as I’m here today, would I like to come back up after my MRI and they’ll try to fit me in? Of course I’d like that very much, so find myself mid-afternoon having completed all three appointments in one day. I’m absolutely shattered, but the good thing is, I won’t have to get up at 6.00am tomorrow to do it all again. 

We’d thought of staying over tonight to save the repeat journey, but I just couldn’t face it - and as it turns out, this is just as well. 

I’ve taken my camera with me, ever optimistic. Until now, I’ve always tried to link these Liverpool visits with mini-breaks or at least explorations of the Liverpool environs. Even last week, I managed the ‘Floating Earth’ down at the docks. But not today; I just want to get back home and rest. And even once I’m back, I’ve neither the energy or enthusiasm to lift my camera let alone find a blip. 

So please forgive me for the flower collage from our weekend wander round the reserve - unused in favour of the ‘Last Light’ set. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.