carliewired

By carliewired

82 F/28 C

It is a busy 
weekend for hockey fans so
I will stay away!

I backed the car out of the garage at 5:30 to discover my annoying neighbours were already on their driveway sorting their garage sale. I drove off to RIverside Park in the downtown to see what the Memorial Cup event was looking like. 

I found two of the three park entrances blocked so I had to park at the west end near the tennis courts. I walked the Rivers Trail over to the pier and then over to the railway bridge. The park was beautifully still and quiet this early in the morning. The sun was just coming over my mountains. The river is very full making the pier and the bridges appear 'short'. 

Kamloops is hosting the Memorial Cup all week. It is a major hockey tournament that determines the champion of the Canadian Hockey League. The Memorial Cup was first awarded in 1919. It is a very big deal for hockey enthusiasts and will generate much activity and money. 

I was happy to take a look around the arena without the crowds. It seemed odd to have the lights on there before 6 AM. Much of the parking lot below the arena has been taken up with a big sound stage and auxiliary venues. Two bored security guards smoking cigarettes shuffled around the facility outside.

I left a quilted heart on a bench along the Rivers Trail and headed home with my breakfast. 

I'm in for the day. I have a quilt that needs a binding so I'd best get at it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.