Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Close up and personal

This morning I went just outside Winchester for coffee with a friend.  We had a fine old gossip and - as the cafe has a plant nursery attached - I bought a last foxglove plant and more compost.

On the way home we did some very local exploring and landed up sitting in the grounds of Headbourne Worthy Church.  Such a pretty place, very green and with a stream on two sides.  I'd only been in the church once before, years ago when I photographed two friends' wedding.

Miraculously it was unlocked and you were invited to peep into the vestry as well as climb the stairs to what must have once been the minstrels' gallery.  One day, when the weather is beautiful and I have the right lens with me I shall go back and blip it.

Anyway, back outside I found this damselfly by a tiny footbridge over the stream.  I'm not entirely convinced that getting in so close gains much, but I have been burning to try it out with the new lens - and it does demonstrate how oddly (to us at least) they are put together.  I also can't identify what damselfly this is, with it's metalic blue and those plain ginger wings.  However, there are a great many of them around right now.

Once home, the compost has been spread, the washing put out, Hazel walked and tomorrow designated planting day.  What fun that last will be.

Hope Monday's treated you well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.