Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

A blipper's life

Really blipping can push you into some madnesses.  This morning, knowing the great spotted woodpeckers now have a brood, I was determined to get shots of the comings and goings so I went out early.  However, the changeover between mum and dad was so quick - and with an approximate 15 min gap - that I knew I'd have to go back for my tripod for any chance of a shot.  This I did, changing my jacket at the same time as it was colder than I'd thought.

Half an hour later, back in the reserve, I managed to get a couple of shots of a back view - when the tripod disintegrated into 3 pieces.  Determined not to be done out of my subject, I finished walking into town and went to the camera shop to buy a new one.  But I'd changed my coat, hadn't I, so I had no cards in my pocket.  Couldn't even get a bus home, but had to walk ;((

So yes, I did get there in the end but this shot of the male bringing in veg for the chicks suffers from the fact that it was now about 11am and the sun had moved round to a much less good place.  However, I'm glad I wasn't completely beaten, even if absolutely exhausted!

The things we do for blip!

The rest of the day I've been in recovery mode so nothing much has been done.  Hope your day's been a little more successful  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.