JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Dr Frieda with her patient patient

We've had a busy couple of days: Marianna's been admitted to hospital so that she and the baby can be monitored. The baby is still in the transverse position, which is quite uncomfortable for M. There's a caesarian section booked for 6 June. All's well so far.
So Frieda's been with us, while Jack works and finishes some last-minute decorating in the house.
Today Frieda and I spent a companionable hour and a half with Marianna in the ward. We listened in to the baby's heartbeat - such a magical experience. And "Dr Frieda" gave her mum a thorough check-up.
I'm uploading this as Frieda finally drops off to sleep next to me, in the spare bed in my study. She didn't find it easy - not surprising, with all that's happening. I read to her for a while; then we had an interlude of "I can't sleep...!" accompanied by much thrashing around. Finally I found a bedtime story on Spotify that we could both listen to and it did the trick.
Tomorrow M's parents will arrive from Greece, so we'll be able to share the load between us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.