Time To Say Goodbye

A week ago I blipped a picture of Mum’s car after she’d pulled the front bumper half off. She finally admitted it was time to give up driving, I said I’d sort it, and today was the day.
I arrived at 12.30 and grabbed all the keys and documents. Five minutes with a roll of gaffer tape and the front bumper had been secured well enough for the 10 minute drive to We Buy Any Car. I told the member of staff that I was going to challenge their slogan of buying ANY car, and they said they were sure it couldn’t be that bad. She looked at the rear first, and claimed it wasn’t as bad as I had said. She then walked round to the front where I heard her mutter “oh sh*t!”. Recovering her composure, she went through the rest of her checklist and agreed it really just needed new front and rear bumpers and a damn good valet, as it was sound mechanically and had a full service history. I confirmed that I’d not had any issues driving it there and all the electrics worked.
After some complicated calculations to account for the damage a figure was offered. A figure considerably higher than I had thought it could possibly be worth! I agreed the deal and so it was that, just over an hour after arriving at Mum’s, I was driving away from WBAC and the money was on its way to her account. I didn’t feel the need to do the dance they do in the TV advert though!
Thanks to everyone for their kind comments about my three year blip anniversary yesterday. I was actually convinced that today was the third anniversary so didn’t say anything myself, and it was quite a surprise to go on the site today and see all the likes and comments.
Thus begins year four…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.