Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A bit of red

I have been taking part in No Mow May and haven't mowed my lawn this month.  Truth be told, for various reasons, I haven't mowed my lawn at all in 2023 so you can imagine what a state it was in this morning.  See Extra.  I decided to mow it today. It would be just my luck if I left it till tomorrow and it would be pouring with rain.  Today has been dry, sunny and warm - lovely weather for a bit of gardening.

Mowing the lawn wasn't easy.  First of all I had to use the shears to cut back the long tall grass. Then I started using my battery cordless mower but it couldn't really cope with the thick uneven grass - and then it ran out of battery.  So I got the electric mower out.  It was stop start as I had to keep emptying the grass box.  In the end I completly filled the green bin with grass cuttings. 

The Wide Wednesday theme today is " a bit of red " and as there wasn't any red in the garden I was wondering how to fulfil the challenge..... until I started cutting back some branches near the wall at the end of the garden and uncovered a solitary red peony rose.  Blip sorted.  Thanks to RockArea  for hosting.

After putting the lawn mowers and other bits and bobs away I sat on the sofa to relax and promptly fell asleep for an hour. I was so stiff when I woke up and my back is aching this evening.  But at least I have a sense of achievement in getting the lawn mowed .... finally.

Steps today - 8,880

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.