Needle Threader

The Tiny Tuesday theme today is " anything in your household " . As I used this needle threader today I thought I would blip it.  Thanks to H0tamer for hosting the challenge.

A needle threader is a device for helping to put thread through the eye of a needle. Many kinds exist, though a common type combines a short length of fine wire bent into a diamond shape, with one corner held by a piece of tinplate or plastic. The user passes the wire loop through the needle eye, passes the thread through the wire loop, and finally pulls both the loop back through the needle by the handle, which pulls the thread through. The typical needle threader of this type has the image of a woman, possibly Ariadne, in profile stamped into the plate handle. The first known use of needle threaders in Europe was in the eighteenth or early nineteenth century. 

I had to phone Barclays Bank this morning.  Reason ......... last evening I booked my train travel to Sussex in August without a problem using my debit card.  Then I tried to book an Airbnb.  Barclays security sent me a code on my phone which I had to enter before proceeding. ( I assumed this was because it was quite a large amount - larger than any other transactions I have made recently )  I entered the code.  Then they sent another code.  I entered that.  Then they texted saying that they had " temporarily stopped my debit card to prevent fraud ".  So I just paid for the Airbnb by Paypal and phoned Barclays this morning to sort things out.

Such a hassle getting through. On hold for ages . Spoke to 3 people - two were members of the fraud team.  Answered loads of security questions.  Finally after half an hour they said my debit card was OK to use again.  I know I should be grateful that they are trying to prevent me getting ripped off by someone but its such a bother to get things off and running again.  Makes me nervous of using my debit card online in case it happens again.

It has rained all day again so I just stayed indoors until it was time to venture out to go to Slimming Club.  It was still raining then but more of a drizzle.  There were more people at group then there has been for ages.  Lots of good weight losses.  I lost 1½ pounds. 

Steps today - 7,086

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.