pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A joke and a paddle

I’ve been meaning to share this exchange from the other day between The Youngest and I because it made me chuckle. 

We were engaged in conversation and I remarked on something, I can’t remember what, and the following ensued:-

Youngest: You’re kidding?!
Me: “If I was kidding, I would have said: a horse walks into a bar and the barman says “why the long face?””*
Youngest: That’s a terrible joke.
Me: Yeah? Let’s hear one of yours then! What have you got?
<beat>
Youngest: The past, the present and the future walk into a bar. It was tense.
Me: Yeah ok, you win.

*this is a line from the absolutely brilliant Top Gun spoof; Hot Shots!

*******

The working day has been busy with lots to prepare for in a busy June, but I also had to get prepped for the arrival of LadyV and the girls.

We were off for a trip to Coniston to do some paddle boarding and then a sleepover at mine. Despite the efforts of some tourists and/or slow moving camper vans, we got there in good time to get the boards pumped up and out on the lake in the last of the heat of the sunshine.

It was glorious, absolutely glorious. The girls are so confident in the water and loved being on the paddle boards too. We had a great time - even though I knocked one of them off and revenge-splashed the other one a little more heavily than I had intended.

We picnicked, laughed and splashed as we watched the sun disappear behind the Old Man (no, not me). The time just flew by and too soon it was time for home, showers and bed.

Doesn’t the sun (and good company) make life just that little bit easier?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.