Marionb

By Marionb

Look Up..Look Way Up....

At last..the Capitole was open for visitors! And we didn't even plan to go there; we were just meandering around the little back streets around Place du Capitole, and were crossing the square (extra) and noted...hmmm..is that door slightly ajar? The one that is usually fermé? OMG..it IS!  

Perhaps the secret is to NOT plan? Not planning would avoid a lot of disappointments...

So we went in and gazed at all the opulence and were in awe..of the art..the statues, and especially the ceilings.....and took way too many photos...(extra) 

The meandering took us through some fabulous winding streets  - the perfect venues for urban sketching - if only it were one of my talents! I can see why that Urban Sketching gathering was held in Toulouse last weekend! 

We ended up at the river Garonne which is a great place for photos too, but it was the wrong time of day for good light,  but we wonder if it might be a great spot for sunsets; sunrises and sunsets are not a feature of the view from my window here!  

 I understand, however, that the view from my window will be perfect for the protest on Tuesday . The reception clerk advises us not to go out but to watch from the window..but do not open the window..tear gas will probably be used...Say what?

I guess there will be no dinner out that night, so we will have to bring something in earlier in the day..Dinner tonight was at the vegetarian restaurant - I refrained from photos of the buffet or my plate, but could not resist the mural..(extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.